Military AI Works • Tango's workbench - Page 2
Page 2 of 2

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 21 Nov 2020, 03:08
by Weescotty
Prob won't work in FSX.
It relies on a GVar which work differently in FSX

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 21 Nov 2020, 06:47
by John Young
That's my expectation too Kev.

John

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 21 Nov 2020, 07:10
by Firebird
My thinking about this was that you used a variable for the animation. If the variable was 0 the blades were still.
If the engine is started then the count is set to a figure say 5000.
Then you check the variable, if the variable is >0 then animate and reduce variable by 1.

As the engine is running it will keep setting the variable to 5000, for example. When the aircraft lands and the engine switches off the rotors will keep turning for the amount of time until the variable hits 0.

The only issue is that the engine sound will switch off immediately rather than continue until the rotors stop.

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 22 Nov 2020, 22:24
by Weescotty
And thereby hangs the problem.
The ONLY variable we can use that we control the value of is a G:Var. (L:Vars have never worked for AI).

Unforetunately G:Vars in FSX and probably P3D are global so all the aircraft react to a change.
In FS9 they are local to the individual aircraft itself, so each aircraft can have a unique G:Var value.

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 22 Nov 2020, 22:54
by SeanG
Hi all... Just stumbled onto this thread (gee the Wasp looks cool in FSX...) I have sent John my animation XML, and as pointed out earlier it uses GVars.. but with the TH-57 I am playing with I may have found a better compromise, let me do some more fiddling with it and if it works I'll share it :)

Sean

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 03:39
by Weescotty
The advantage to a G:Var was the possibility of setting a countdown timer during which time the rotors spun, and you could 100% guarentee they always finished at a specific position.
Thats why the V-22 Osprey works so well in FS9, but can't do the same in FSX.
I will be interested to see your solution.

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 04:38
by SeanG
Weescotty wrote:
23 Nov 2020, 03:39
I will be interested to see your solution.
Me too!! lol

Sean
tango234 wrote:
19 Nov 2020, 19:16
In other news, I've been playing around with converting the SGAI Wasp to FSX-native. Very nice looking model in P3Dv4 :D. Mostly there, just a few niggles:
Would the GMax files and animation XML's be useful for your conversion? AND, the artifacts you see may be my 'placeholder' cubes for the animations.... which I thought I'd made transparent, but might have missed.

Cheers
Sean

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 04:50
by Weescotty
Maybe you can get L:Vars working with FSX or P3D....

The only difference is you have to give a name and specify the units...

1 (>L:TestVar,bool)

Would set the L:Var named TestVar to True

(L:TestVar,bool) 1 ==

Would test TestVar for true.


Personally I NEVER got them work for AI aicraft.

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 06:23
by John Young
There's another problem here with FSX and P3D where the trigger is the beacon light. In both sims the light comes on about 15 minutes before departure. In FS9, the trigger will initiate at any time the user launches the sim within that 15 minute window. In FSX and P3D if the user launches after the beacon light comes on, the trigger initiates at departure. That really defeats the object of the code, at least pre-departure, for an early spin of the rotors.

John

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 08:23
by Firebird
This is one of the areas that I hope that the MSFS team sort out when they get around to it.
I am hopeful after seeing some of the detail that the main areas of the sim have gone into. The only thing is that unless you are a developer for AI aircraft it is not something that you would be aware of and therefore may possibly be missed.

I have fingers and toes crossed that an AI developer or three is involved in the consultations when they get around to that part of the game.

Re: Tango's workbench

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 22:41
by tango234
SeanG wrote:
23 Nov 2020, 04:38
...

Would the GMax files and animation XML's be useful for your conversion? AND, the artifacts you see may be my 'placeholder' cubes for the animations.... which I thought I'd made transparent, but might have missed.

Cheers
Sean
Honestly speaking, I wouldn't have the first clue what to do with the gmax files, but the XMLs may be useful if that is alright. Granted, FSX and P3Dv4 work differently as mentioned above, but it would still be good to have I think.

As for the artifacts, they are actually a duplicate set of rotor heads that snuck in there unnoticed what I importing things to get the rotors set up, so you didn't miss anything! Easy enough to deal with but a little embarrassing...