Military AI Works • Augusta Westland AW139’s - Page 2
Page 2 of 2

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 19 Oct 2018, 10:45
by edetroit
dummy wrote:
19 Oct 2018, 09:47

That is great!! Thank you very much. Callsign is Maple.

Edwin
MAPLE? A google search says MAPLELEAF and ICAO code HNL.

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 21 Oct 2018, 11:38
by edetroit

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 03:55
by Joseph29
Those are some really nice paints Ed!

Does anyone know if CHC Netherlands and Bristow still use the S-76 helicopters? I ask because I use P3D and that S-76 model does not work in P3D. So I was thought about using those flightplans with these new AW-139 paints.

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 09:31
by swp53
Hi Joseph,
With regard to Bristow Helicopters do you mean in the UK or world wide?
The G-INFO website shows 3 x S-76C on the UK register G-CFJC, G-CGOU, G-KAZB. But worldwide wikipedia says there are 44 in the fleet.
In the UK the register also shows 10 x AW139, 14 x AW189, 11 x EC225 LP, 27 x S-92A.

I have not looked at the Dutch register for CHC Netherlands.
Steve

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 09:37
by dummy
edetroit wrote:
19 Oct 2018, 10:45
dummy wrote:
19 Oct 2018, 09:47

That is great!! Thank you very much. Callsign is Maple.

Edwin
MAPLE? A google search says MAPLELEAF and ICAO code HNL.
Maple is what i hear all the time on the scanner so i would say go for that.
Maybe MAPLELEAF was to long for radiocomms :D

Edwin

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 09:41
by swp53
Update to my previous post.

The Dutch register shows CHC Helicopters Netherlands BV to only be an AW139 fleet.
9 x AW139 = PH-EUA, PH-EUE, PH-EUF, PH-EUH, PH-EUJ, PH-IEH, PH-SHK, PH-SHL, PH-SHP.

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 09:42
by dummy
edetroit wrote:
21 Oct 2018, 11:38
A few CHC Netherlands here: http://www.mediafire.com/file/qa996m4yd ... 9.zip/file
Wow, really nice paints!! Thanks you so much.

Edwin

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 09:45
by dummy
Joseph29 wrote:
22 Oct 2018, 03:55
Those are some really nice paints Ed!

Does anyone know if CHC Netherlands and Bristow still use the S-76 helicopters? I ask because I use P3D and that S-76 model does not work in P3D. So I was thought about using those flightplans with these new AW-139 paints.
Hi Joseph,

CHC Netherlands does not operate the S-76 anymore. They only have the AW-139 stationed at Den Helder airport.

Edwin

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 10:36
by Joseph29
dummy wrote:
22 Oct 2018, 09:45
Joseph29 wrote:
22 Oct 2018, 03:55
Those are some really nice paints Ed!

Does anyone know if CHC Netherlands and Bristow still use the S-76 helicopters? I ask because I use P3D and that S-76 model does not work in P3D. So I was thought about using those flightplans with these new AW-139 paints.
Hi Joseph,

CHC Netherlands does not operate the S-76 anymore. They only have the AW-139 stationed at Den Helder airport.

Edwin

Thanks. So I will use the flightplans from the S-76's and just change them to the AW-139's.

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 22 Oct 2018, 10:37
by Joseph29
swp53 wrote:
22 Oct 2018, 09:31
Hi Joseph,
With regard to Bristow Helicopters do you mean in the UK or world wide?
The G-INFO website shows 3 x S-76C on the UK register G-CFJC, G-CGOU, G-KAZB. But worldwide wikipedia says there are 44 in the fleet.
In the UK the register also shows 10 x AW139, 14 x AW189, 11 x EC225 LP, 27 x S-92A.

I have not looked at the Dutch register for CHC Netherlands.
Steve
I just ment UK. The UTT S-76 package has flightplans for the UK Bristow Helicopters.

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 24 Oct 2018, 10:08
by dummy
edetroit wrote:
14 Oct 2018, 11:23
Here are photoreal textures for 4 CHC Scotia AW139's. My Sim is FS9 and the main texture is in 32bit plus mips.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/qjry2bon8 ... 9.zip/file

I'm going to look at painting some Bristows now.
Hi Ed,

i only see now that you use FS9, :oops: can i use your paints in FSX?

Edwin

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 24 Oct 2018, 18:39
by edetroit
Hello Edwin, I can’t be sure but if the FSX model has the same texture mapping as the FS9 model it should be fine.

Regards

Ed

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 24 Oct 2018, 20:02
by clickclickdoh
John is very good about making his models easy to produce FS9 and FSX/p3d versions at the same time. While making FS9 paints, just make sure the alpha channel is on, then save it as a .dds file.

When I am making paints for Johns models, I save the dxt3 .bmp and .dds file at the same time using a script.

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 25 Oct 2018, 07:24
by John Young
Yes indeed both my FS9 and FSX/P3D models have the same mapping. However if you create a Dxt5 FSX/P3D form an FS9 Dxt3 texture, you will degrade the image because you are compressing it twice. Much better to produce the Dxt5 from Ed's 24 bit master. Remember also that Dxt5 textures and their alpha must be flipped vertically.

John

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 25 Oct 2018, 10:03
by dummy
Okay, thanks for the answer guys. I will give it a try to convert them to FSX standard.

Edwin

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 25 Oct 2018, 12:21
by edetroit
John Young wrote:
25 Oct 2018, 07:24
Yes indeed both my FS9 and FSX/P3D models have the same mapping. However if you create a Dxt5 FSX/P3D form an FS9 Dxt3 texture, you will degrade the image because you are compressing it twice. Much better to produce the Dxt5 from Ed's 24 bit master. Remember also that Dxt5 textures and their alpha must be flipped vertically.

John
Interesting. My fuselage texture is 32bit not DXT3 so they will be good for DXT5 conversion.

Photoreal paints don't take kindly to compression so I always leave mine 32bit......surely 32bit will work in FSX also?

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 25 Oct 2018, 12:30
by edetroit
Ah ok I understand`... a texture with a graded alpha needs to be DXT5. So it will be my prop texture that need changing. I will upload 32bit versions of them.

regards

Ed

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 25 Oct 2018, 14:18
by John Young
32 bit will be fine in this case in both FS9 and FSX because you only have a few helicopters to display at one time. 100 F-16's at one airfield done that way might produce a slide show however.

John

Re: Augusta Westland AW139’s

Posted: 25 Oct 2018, 20:31
by edetroit
Here is the 32bit prop texture if anyone would prefer it or wish to change it to DXT5 for FSX.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/bcg5v53p2 ... 9.zip/file

Happy spotting

Ed