Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Here you can search for, request or display your military AI repaints for others to enjoy.
Post Reply
TheFoufure
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1982
Joined: 06 Mar 2011, 16:48
Version: FS9
Location: Belgium

Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Post by TheFoufure »

Hi all,

I encounter a problem while trying to convert a texture FSX/P3D to FS9.
Usually I always succeed successfully.
This is a texture for a FAIB 747 model.
I open the DDS texture with DXTBMP. I make a flip, then with my Aditor I reduce the dimensions in 1024 x 1024 for FS9. Then I take up the texture in DXTBMP and I export it to DXT3 BMP format (as I usually do).

Only at the result, the texture appears in transparency in FS9. That is to say that I see the shadow of the plane, and I guess the texture but we can see through.

However, I have the corresponding alpha file too.

I can't find the solution. If someone among you can help me, it would be super nice.

Thanks a lot.

Regards.


Laurent.
TheFoufure
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1982
Joined: 06 Mar 2011, 16:48
Version: FS9
Location: Belgium

Re: Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Post by TheFoufure »

Problem solved.

Thanks a lot.

Regards.
User avatar
f4nutter
MAIW Developer
MAIW Developer
Posts: 2130
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 16:00
Version: P3D
Location: EGDC
Contact:

Re: Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Post by f4nutter »

what was it ? posting what you found might help someone else.
User avatar
Firebird
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 11650
Joined: 11 Aug 2006, 21:04
Version: FS9
Location: EGLL

Re: Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Post by Firebird »

I thought that I had posted a response but its seems that my VPN address is automatically blocked by the MAIW site.

What I suggested was that FAIB schemes were different from most. The alphas are different in FS9 to the the rest.
What you have to do is remove the alpha first. Then convert then add the appropriate alpha from an existing FS9 scheme.

Whether or not this was the cause and the fix I don't know.
Steve
_______________________________________________________
Image
Quid Si Coelum Ruat
_______________________________________________________
TheFoufure
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1982
Joined: 06 Mar 2011, 16:48
Version: FS9
Location: Belgium

Re: Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Post by TheFoufure »

f4nutter wrote: 25 Nov 2022, 14:13 what was it ? posting what you found might help someone else.
Yes of course.

As many said (here and on AITraffic.ch forum my problem was the Alpha file.

I used an Alpha file shared by a member on AITraffic.ch forum. And all is Ok.

FS9 Alpha and FSX alpha are not the same.
User avatar
f4nutter
MAIW Developer
MAIW Developer
Posts: 2130
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 16:00
Version: P3D
Location: EGDC
Contact:

Re: Problem with texture converting (FSX/P3D > FS9)

Post by f4nutter »

I'm glad you got it sorted Laurent.
Post Reply