Please consider helping us pay for the server hosting that keeps this website, the forums and the download hangar running. Use the PayPal link at the bottom of this page.

AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Essential flight simulator tools, by Martin Gossmann
http://www.owlsnest.eu
Post Reply
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

Today I have released Version 4 of my AI Aircraft Editor.NET.

After some intensive time of coding these are the major changes:

- Application Interface restructured
- Major code rewrite to increase performance and eliminate bugs
- New: Aircraft Effect management
- P3Dv6 Support
- P3D autodiscover path support
- Utilize current MCX viewer components

I would like to thank Arno for his great support in integrating the new MCX viewer components.

I would also like to thank the group of beta testers who have tested each new version over and over again to find the bugs: Firebird, shaggy22, geoffj, bvanhout, hgschnell, jetpilot1980, jimrodger.

Their help and support has been absolutely amazing and indispensable to the development.

If you are already using AIAE, the update will be offered to you automatically. If you want to try the application, you can find the download at The Owl's Nest, here at MAIW and at AVSim.

Image

Image

Image

Image
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Martin, I just installed the new version - and I cannot use it, at least not right out of the box.

The problem is that I have both P3D v. 5 and v. 6 installed. The sim I mainly use is v. 5, which is installed on my H: drive (H:\P3D V5 folder), my v. 6 is installed on my C: drive (C:\P3D V6 folder).

The AI aircraft for v. 5, which is where I need to use AIAE are also in a folder on the C: drive (C:\P3D V5 AI Aircraft), and I cannot seem to get AIAE to see that folder.

Any thoughts?

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

You can always navigate via folder, Jorgen.

But naturally that should work. Try this:

1. Restart AIAE. Does it offer you the paths now?
2. click on the button beside the selection drop-down. Restart AIAE afterwards. Does it offer the paths now?
3. send me the json file from the folder where AIAE is installed.


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Ah I see, after a restart it showed me the correct folder, and I will try it out now in further detail.

I guess that what I was looking for was a way of manually selecting the folder of interest, like in the "old" version.

Thanks a lot -

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

But you can do that, Jorgen. Or are you not seeing the folder tree view on the left side? There you can either navigate disk based or folder based (like my documents, downloads etc.)


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

The folder tree was showing after the restart.

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

Jorgen - you mean below part was not visible until you restarted AIAE? This had never been reported before. And there was what instead? Nothing?
Attachments
jorgen.jpg
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Hmmm could not post a reply?

Jorgen

Edit: is there a maximum length to replies?
Last edited by Jorgen on 19 Feb 2024, 13:47, edited 1 time in total.
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Trying again:

On first start, yes there was a big blank nothing. On restart, my AI aircraft folder was showing.

Jorgen

Edit: is there a maximum length to replies?
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Problems entering comments.... I get "Forbidden"....

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

I just tried and cannot replicate that either, Jorgen.

What OS are you using? Where is the aircraft folder located you are working on?

Also, please try again and disable your AntVirus before.


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Windows 10 Pro, 22H2 build 19045.4046, Google Chrome v. 121.0.6167.185 (the most recent one).

I will try disabling AVG, but have never had issues writing before.

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

Can you change any other value? Title, etc? I would assume that this does not work either.


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

It did not work. I copied what I was going to write here and will email that to you.

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

I post my reply to Jorgen here, so that others may also benefit from it.

The main purpose for navigation in AIAE is the folder tree. The functionality of the drop down boxes are just kind of a shortcut method for easy access.

The first drop-down lists all drives. Selecting any will make that drive active in the folder view.

For all simulators installed an entry is added in the second drop-down. Then AIAE tries to figure out the simfolders/aircraft folders for that specific simulator and add those to the third drop-down. For FS9 that is only the aircraft folder, for FSX the SimObject folder. For P3D I analyze the add-on.cfg files and iterate through the auto discover paths.

Now for the usage… You select the sim in drop-down box 2. Then all SimObject/aircraft folders discovered for this sim are populated in the drop-down box 3.

If you select one of those discovered folders, they will be selected in the folder treeview. Your aircraft folders should be located below.


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
User avatar
petebramley
MAIW Developer
MAIW Developer
Posts: 1544
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:05
Version: P3D
Location: EGBG

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by petebramley »

Small problem noted with AIAE V4.2.1.0 on my system

Win 11
P3Dv4.5


Sort order does not seem to work correctly:

Should be as set in "Sort Key Order"

[fltsim.3]
title=FAIB B747-400BCF GE Western Global N356KD
sim=FAIB_7474
model=GE
texture=Western Global\N356KD
atc_id=N356KD
atc_airline=WESTERN GLOBAL
ui_manufacturer=Boeing
ui_type=B747-400 GE
ui_variation=Western Global
ui_createdby=FAIB
description=Western Global Boeing 747-400BCF :: Repaint by Ryan Carson
atc_heavy=1
atc_parking_types=CARGO
atc_parking_codes=WGN

What comes out:

[fltsim.11]
title=TBAI Cessna Citation X Mountain Aviation N513JB
model=NoWinglet
texture=Mountain Aviation\N513JB
sim=TBAI Cessna Citation X
ui_createdby=TBAI
ui_manufacturer=Cessna
ui_type=Citation X
ui_variation=Fast Bird LLC, S/N 750-0129
atc_parking_types=RAMP
atc_parking_codes=FTH
atc_airline=FOOTHILLS
atc_id=N513JB

Not a total killer but I tend to use that function a great deal. Also the Tools - Renumber Flightsim sections and the Tools - Sort Aircraft.cfg sections seems to be a bit mixed up. When I select one I get the confirmation box for the other.

If I Renumber I get a confirmation saying All [fltsim.x] sections have been sorted !
If I Sort I get a confirmation saying All [fltsim.x] sections have been renumbered !

Regards
Pete B
Retired and busier than ever !!
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

Let me look at this, Pete.


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Jorgen
Captain
Captain
Posts: 259
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 00:28
Version: P3D
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by Jorgen »

Trying to post again here:

With P3D v5 selected as the simulator, the SimOblect Folders show 3 folders (didn't notice this before):

Default Ground Vehicles
Default Rotorcraft
Default Airplanes

I leave those generally alone, my AI work is done in "P3D V5 AI Aircraft", which is outside the simulator on the C: drive (the simulator is on H:).

Jorgen
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

Jorgen wrote:Trying to post again here:

With P3D v5 selected as the simulator, the SimOblect Folders show 3 folders (didn't notice this before):

Default Ground Vehicles
Default Rotorcraft
Default Airplanes

I leave those generally alone, my AI work is done in "P3D V5 AI Aircraft", which is outside the simulator on the C: drive (the simulator is on H:).

Jorgen
And how did you make that folder known to P3D?


Send from mobile hence short
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
User avatar
gsnde
MAIW Admin
MAIW Admin
Posts: 4403
Joined: 05 Apr 2007, 08:13
Version: P3D
Location: South-West Germany
Contact:

Re: AI Aircraft Editor Version 4.2.1 released

Post by gsnde »

petebramley wrote: 19 Feb 2024, 16:17
Sort order does not seem to work correctly:

If I Renumber I get a confirmation saying All [fltsim.x] sections have been sorted !

If I Sort I get a confirmation saying All [fltsim.x] sections have been renumbered !
Right on all accounts :smt002

2 and 3 were an easy fix, I got confused with the confirmation message.

1 is a bit different. I completely rewrote the sorting code, and when it was done, I forgot that I made the sort order configurable. What you see is how I sort my sections. I will correct this asap.
Cheers,
Martin
________________________________________
The Owl's Nest * Military Aircraft Reference * ICAO Reference * Distance Calculator * MAIW, Military AI & UKMil Reference
Post Reply