Merge objects with MDLCVRTX

Discussion, tutorials,hints and tips relating to designing military ai aircraft.
Post Reply
TheFoufure
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1996
Joined: 06 Mar 2011, 16:48
Version: FS9
Location: Belgium

Merge objects with MDLCVRTX

Post by TheFoufure »

Hello,

I'm trying to add an antena to an aircraft model with ModelonverterX.

So first I load the aircraft mdl file.
Second I open Merge tool to add the antena. But I don't know if this object must be a mdl or could be a collada file.

In fact I want to add the Sat Antena to the FAIB E-4B model.

I've a collada file of the antena.

Thanks a lot for the help.
User avatar
gavinc
MAIW Conversion Team
MAIW Conversion Team
Posts: 504
Joined: 25 Aug 2013, 09:26
Version: FSX

Re: Merge objects with MDLCVRTX

Post by gavinc »

Hi,
I've never merged collada files but I have merged FSDS source parts onto models so it should work.

If not then use MCX to create a mdl file from the collada source.

One hint with merging is to make sure you get the LOD correct in the merge tool.

good luck.
TheFoufure
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 1996
Joined: 06 Mar 2011, 16:48
Version: FS9
Location: Belgium

Re: Merge objects with MDLCVRTX

Post by TheFoufure »

gavinc wrote: 18 Jan 2023, 00:01 Hi,
I've never merged collada files but I have merged FSDS source parts onto models so it should work.

If not then use MCX to create a mdl file from the collada source.

One hint with merging is to make sure you get the LOD correct in the merge tool.

good luck.
Hi,

Thank you for that answer.
This is indeed what I did. I first transformed the collada file into an mdl file. But I'm still having trouble performing a merge with the aircraft file. Probably a LOD error as you say. How to find the correct LOD?

Thanks.
User avatar
gavinc
MAIW Conversion Team
MAIW Conversion Team
Posts: 504
Joined: 25 Aug 2013, 09:26
Version: FSX

Re: Merge objects with MDLCVRTX

Post by gavinc »

Hi,
In the merge objects tool you can choose the LOD that you are merging into (it defaults to LOD 100). Make sure that LOD value matches the LOD that you are looking at in MCX
Post Reply